Blog Comments 1-15

Comment 1:  http://tabathapr.wordpress.com, May 28, 2010  

RE:  “Springbreak that Changed My Life Forever” by Tabatha Amerson  

 I love Tabatha’s website in general. It is informative, professional looking, creative, attractive, colorful, personal and entertaining.  

In the above mentioned article she shares her own heartwarming account of how her Leadership Training at LeaderShape in Swainsboro, GA,  during Spring break affected her life.  In the six days of LeaderShape, she went from being shy to having voice and a vision.  The experience helped her to recognize her own abilities, and to become vulnerable enough to trust others.  Her story is inspiring and encourages others to step outside of their comfort zones to learn more, experience more and become more, to equip themselves to give more to the world around them.  

Comment #2 – RE: How to Annoy a TV Reporter, May 30, 2010  

found on: www.publicrelationsmatters.com  

I think Mr. Slavin, as PR person, should immediately send out a formal apology and re-schedule and invite the press to the next meeting. As the PR person, it is his job to be the mediator between the hospital and the press. It is the press’ job to get the facts of the story. Mr. Slavin should go back to PR school–clearly he is not a prime example of quality public relations and is not providing a good public image of the profession.  

I think if the hospital has something to hide, Mr. Slavin did an excellent job of diversion tactics.  

Comment 3:  RE: ‘United Breaks Guitars’, www.martinwaxman.com   , “http://www.youtube.com/v/5YGc4zOqozo&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xd0d0d0&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1″></param><param name=”allowFullScreen” value=”true”>src=”http://www.youtube.com/v/5YGc4zOqozo&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xd0d0d0&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1” type=”application/x-shockwave-flash” allowfullscreen=”true” allowScriptAccess=”always” width=”640″ height=”385″></embed></object>  

Martin:  

I love this video clip! What a clever, fun way to get the point across–loud and clear–United Breaks Guitars! Apparently they did not know who they were dealing with when they so blatantly disrespected your guitars.  Perhaps they will think twice now before  displaying signs of blatant disrespect–perhaps not.   

I think they could use a good public relations person about now, don’t you?  Their public image has become slightly tarnished.  Thank you, Martin, You Tube and social media for keeping us in the know.  

Linda Silfies
Georgia Southern University, PR student  

Comment #4–  RE: Alicia Norman’s  Blog – Randomosity at its finest, http://alecia4147.wordpress.com  

I’ve enjoyed your Starbucks rant, or maybe it was a rave, in any case, I enjoyed it nevertheless. It’s taken me a long time to acquire a taste for coffee, but with all of the options Starbucks offers, and with all of their flavoring choices; sizes, hot, cold or iced selections, makes it much easier to swallow.  

For a while I was stuck on Chai tea. If you have never tried it, you should, if you like hot and spice. It has a nice ginger flavor with a cinnamon kick.  

But back Starbuck’s coffee–I recently enjoyed their mocha frappe’, which was delicious…O, wait a minute…maybe that was McDonald’s.  

Comment #5 – BP’s oil spill,http://www.wtsp.com/video/default.aspx?bctid=89395844001  

Hooray for Mowrey and the other 35,999 people who are interested enough in the environment to offer suggestions and solutions to BPs oil spill problems. It’s unfortunate, however, that BP seems to be turning a deaf ear to hearing them.  It’s also unfortunate that the spill has gone on for as long as it has, and that the oil  continues to contaminate the waters.  Each day that the oil continues to permeate the waters, and contaminate the environment, affects all of us.  

Source: www.wtsp.com/news  

comment 6 – tweets that will expose you as a Twitter dork’

June 12, 2010 by publicrelationswriter | Edit 

 http://t.pm0.net/s/c?1ao.h1h6.162.fnfz.b1y7  

 Taken from Mashable- I found these ‘dork’ identifiers rather amusing and oh, so true. 

  ”Here’s one:  I just ate a bagel, some chips and a Dr. Pepper. My tummy hurts.  

 Why will that tweet make a Twitter dork?  Mashable news editor Brenna Ehrlich and Psychology Today news editor Andrea Bartz explain:  

 First, you said tummy.  

Second, NO ONE CARES.  

 Third,you’re whining, and that’s annoying.  

  They shared a few suggestions for making this type of tweet less annoying plus three more dorky
tweets and their fixes…”  

I was reflecting on this very topic  just this past week as I was working on my “Twitter week” assignment, and how very difficult it was to find Tweets to comment on or to retweet because, sadly,  most of the tweets were personal in nature.  Mostly, John Q. public does not really care what your social plans are, what TV show you are watching or what you’re having for dinner.  No offense intended, but in my humble opinion there is pleasure and there is work, there is professional and there is personal–they do not mix.  

 While I am still on that tangent, I also am frustrated when I receive 20+ tweets a day from the same person.  I think I can say with pretty much certainty, nobody really wants to hear every random thought that goes through ones mind. Sometimes less is more.   Now, I am no expert–far from it, but in my opinion, personal tweets and multiple, random thought tweets per day, just clutter the tweety box, making it difficult to see things that may have some substance, value or importance.   

Thoughts, opinions, feelings and personal and social activities are important and highly valued, but aren’t there some kind of ethical or consideration issues being violated here?    Now that I’ve gotten that off my chest…any comments? How do you feel about it?  

Comment 7 – Gulf Oil Spill: Tony Hayward Attends Glitzy Yacht Race As Oil Spews Into Gulf
 

RAPHAEL SATTER, Associated Press

LONDON — In what one environmentalist described as “yet another public relations disaster” for embattled energy giant BP, CEO Tony Hayward took time off Saturday to attend a glitzy yacht race around England’s Isle of Wight. 

As social networking sites like Twitter and Facebook lit up with outrage, BP spokespeople rushed to defend Hayward, who has drawn withering criticism as the public face of BP’s halting efforts to stop the worst oil spill in U.S. history. 

Isn’t murder a criminal offense? Isn’t BP ruthlessly murdering our wildlife? Do we not eat fish? Are they also slowly killing us? Is BP not responsible for damaging our food supply? Are they not responsible for the resulting loss of jobs? Or the resulting loss of natural resources and the loss of pure water? 

Comment: I cannot stop the oil leak. I cannot save the animals or the planet. I cannot do anything to purify the water supply. But what I can do is stop buying BP oil. If every American boycotted BP oil, would they work any faster to clean up their mess? Would BP execs show a little more interest in cleaning up the mess? Would Tony Hayward be out on his yacht while oil continues to spill? Would Tony Hayward or other execs still have a job? 

Source: www.huffingtonpost.com 

Comment 8 – RE:  www.chibisammii@wordpress.com (Samone Pittman’s interview with PR professional, Angela Byrd. 

Thank you for your informational interview with Ms. Angela Byrd. I am always interested in how other people got their start, what they are doing in their line of work and how they like what they do. Ms. Byrd seems to have fallen into a glamour type job–meeting celebrities and planning weddings, etc., which seems more like fun than work, really. 

It is also interesting that she mentions networking and how important it is to stay connected in a variety of ways, in the field. I imagine that would also apply to any part of life, as well. Networking sounds easy, but I think it might be time-consuming and difficult to always be trying to meet new people. 

Thank you for the information. 

Comment 9 – RE: www.cjenkins8.wordpress.com (Christen Jenkins PR interview with Tiffany Cadogan. 

6/19/10 -Thank you for your information about this interview. It is interesting because even though Ms. Cadogan did not have specific public relations education, she was able to do internships that enabled her to ‘qualify’ for public relations positions. 

It is also interesting to note that she says that 90% of the job is writing. For me that is very good to know, as writing is my first love, my drive and my passion. And so it’s good to know that along with the other aspects of PR that I love, I’ll be able to incorporate my love of writing into a job that will be most satisfying for me.
Thanks for the encouragement. 

Comment 10www.bp00034.wordpress.com (Briana Patrick & iPhone4) June 19/2010 

<object width=”640″ height=”385″><param name=”movie” value=”http://www.youtube.com/v/FHngLJ0RlNg&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xd0d0d0&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1″></param><param name=”allowFullScreen” value=”true”>
src=”http://www.youtube.com/v/FHngLJ0RlNg&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xd0d0d0&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1” type=”application/x-shockwave-flash” allowfullscreen=”true” allowScriptAccess=”always” width=”640″ height=”385″></embed></object> 

Briana,
Thank you for the information about the new iPhone4. It looks like an amazing piece of technology. I have been wondering about iPhones, in general. Someone told me a while ago how amazing they are. She said she can virtually carry on with her business while she is at home or getting her nails done. 

I was very impressed with the information. I don’t know if the iPhone is suitable for me–I don’t have a business and really do not see the need to have access to everything while I am shopping or doing anything else at all, but maybe it’s like the computer when they first came out. I didn’t feel like I really needed one. I didn’t know how I would use one, but I thought it would be fun to have, so I bought one. And guess what? Now, I don’t know how I would live without one. And in fact, I have a desk top computer and a laptop. 

So maybe once you have the iPhone, you’ll never go back to a regular old cell phone again. Who knows? 

Comment 11 – www.eweekeurope.co.uk/news/scottish-church-streams-services-to-ipads-7697#comment15072 

This is a very interesting article and a very clever way to use social media and modern technology to get the message of the Word to the people. It shows initiative to reach the people who can’t get to church, or who have an aversion to stepping inside a church door. I guess the old saying is true–there is more than one way to skin a cat. (Although I do not particularly like that saying) but the premise is the same.
I say bravo to Rev. Bogle for thinking outside of the ‘traditional’ religious box
to use all available means to spread the word and thank you Apple. 

Post by : Linda Silfies, June 20, 2010 : 10:35 am 

Comment 12 – RE: www.tabathapr.wordpress.com 

I”ve enjoyed reading your blog. As a first year PR student, I wanted to see what someone with more experience had to say, what they learned and even what advice they might offer.
You’ve supplied some interesting links, made interesting observations and outlined some of your reading notes in such a way that even newbies like me can appreciate and understand. 

I also like the organization of your blog. I have had difficulty trying to get mine to do what I would like it to do–it seems to have a mind of its own. Your blog has given me ideas about how I might be able to spice mine up a bit. 

If you have any suggestions for a newbie wanting to do PR writing–I would love to hear them.
Thanks, Linda Silfies 

Comment 13 – RE:  www.briannaow.wordpress.com/interview 

I read with interest, your interview with Joanna Stotter, Marketing Coordinator at North Fulton Hospital. She, along with other PR professionals have noted the importance of doing PR internships, being proficient with social media venues such as FaceBook, Twitter, Websites and even YouTube. She also mentioned the importance of becoming an excellent writer, because that is a major part of the job.  

Her interview tips included having a professional appearance, be open-minded and willing to take on any task, express confidence in yourself and your abilities and once you have the job, be a go-getter–prove that you can do the job and are eager to do so.  

I found all of these tips to be helpful and encouraging bits of advice from someone already in the PR industry.
Thank you,
Linda Silfies  

Comment 14www.caseysherwinprca.wordpress.com/prtoptenlist, June 20/2010

Hi Casey,

I love your top 10 list of things you have learned at Georgia Southern University regarding Public Relations and how to be successful. Your tips are extremely helpful and the information detailed enough so tht I do not have to go searching for more information on the various topics (unless I want to.) 

Your information on getting LinkedIn, writing an impressive resume, using Twitter effectively, and your interview tips–building a portfolio and dressing to impress; utilizing Slideshare, Craigslist, Monster.com and ProOpenMic.org were all excellent–information that I will tuck away and begin to incorporate in my own public relations  trail.  Thanks for the great info!

Linda Silfies

PubRelWriter.wordpress.com

Comment 15 – RE:  www. jacksonmcgahee.wordpress.com/interview,  June 20/2010

Thank you Jackson for your interview comments and information regarding your interview with Mr. Cary Rivers, Director of Development and Outreach at Augusta Christian Schools.

It was interesting that he noted the importance of marketing and that he suggested taking more than the required number of marketing classes to be better prepared for a career in public relations, because of the diversity  and nature of the field.

He also advised knowing more about your competition than you know about yourself, so that you know what you are up against and how to strategize.

I’ve now read interviews in several venues from PR firms who do marketing and event planning, to healthcare, education, and now, non-profits.  There are threads of similarity that run between many of them as well as significant differences.

The similarities seem to be that most would recommend internships, staying connected in social media networking and developing excellent writing skills; while the differences seem to fall around actual responsibilities of the job.

The marketing and event planning professionals seemed to have more diversity, while the non-profits seemed to focus more on the grant writing aspects, and the education and healthcare venues seemed to be more focused on daily interactions with people mostly via email–all very different and all very interesting.
Thank you for contributing to my knowledge base.
Linda Silfies
pubrelwriter.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

