Here’s the thing…

Several months ago I purchased a razzle-dazzle electronic toothbrush.   One of the features that intrigued me was that it was to beep indicating when to move to the next quadrant of my mouth, then shut itself off after the last quadrant was completed.  It came complete with additional toothbrush heads and a storage compartment that sterilizes the heads using a miniature ultra-violet light inside the storage unit.   Sounds great, right?  Well, I thought so at the time, but…here’s the thing…

At first use, I removed the brush from my mouth prior to its shut -off time necessitating the need to clean splatter from the bathroom mirror.  Secondly, the pre-set beeping took much longer to occur than expected.  One would think that it would encourage longer brushing, but what really happened was that I now had an appliance telling me I was inadequate.  Do we really need appliances telling us we are doing it wrong?  I wonder who decided that X amount of time to brush was the right amount of time?   Every dental checkup has always resulted in the hygienist telling me I was doing a great job–no plaque buildup, etc.

As I see it, I have two options: don’t use the super sonic mocking toothbrush, or use it and ignore its taunts and rise above the silent message of inadequacy.  I chose the latter.  It reminds me that we are all different; some of may need additional brushing time, while others much less.  We are not one size fits all.

Likewise, there will be people in our lives who tend to make us feel inadequate no matter hard or how long we try to please them.  If that is the case, you have two options: get out of the relationship that taunts, mocks and sends a constant message of inadequacy; or stay in, ignore the messages and rise above, knowing that you are a person of great value.  There is not a reason on earth to accept anything but positive, uplifting messages about who you are and what you can do.  God breathed the breath of life into you.  His love for you is deeper than the ocean.  Remember whose you are–He thinks you are special, don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

image source: photographyblogger

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mike Fisk
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 14:43:44

    Great Post! By the way I think we have the same toothbrush! I’ve gotten horribly behind on reading blogs etc. I’d also like to thank you for following my blog. It’s appreciated. ~ Mike

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

