What to do when you are lower than a snake’s belly…

Life has a way of sometimes grabbing hold of us and not letting go until we’ve been turned upside down and inside out with worry, fear, or discouragement.  Perhaps you’ve suffered loss–either someone you loved, or something you wanted so badly, but it seemed out of reach, or just as you were reaching for it, someone else grabbed it first.  The truth is, life is hard, and life is not fair, but we do the best we can with what we have and move on, right?

For the most part, that seems true.  But when you have experienced such bone-crushing loss that encapsulates you and threatens to destroy your peace,  hope for the future and your very existence, then pat answers about picking yourself up and dusting yourself off do not work.  When everything within you screams desolation, you can dust all you want, but the dust remains.  I’ve had those kinds of days–days when I wanted nothing more than to crawl back into bed and just stay there until hell froze over; probably you have too.  We all have periods of ebbing and flowing; good times and bad.

But how do we get out of the funk when we feel lower than a snake’s belly?  What has helped me most during those times is to find some positive thought I can cling to–something that gives me comfort and hope. Today I was reading Psalm 139.   I love the Psalms because they are so practical.  The writers of the Psalms expressed themselves with such gut-twisting honesty, that most of us can relate to them.   Part of Psalm 139 says: O Lord, you have examined my heart and know everything about me. You know when I sit down or stand up. You know my every thought when far away. You chart the path ahead of me and tell me where to stop and rest. Every moment you know where I am. You know what I am going to say even before I say it, Lord. You both precede and follow me. You placed you hand of blessing on my head. …How precious are your thoughts about me, O God! They are innumerable!

Isn’t it comforting to know that the God of the universe thinks about each of us, individually? He knows where we are currently, and where we are going.  He places His hand on our heads and blesses us.  He wants us joyful and happy, fulfilled and satisfied.  He wants us to prosper and do well,  successful and to have meaningful, supportive, loving relationships.

Knowing that God is not against me or punishing me when I am going through hard times, removes some of the stress of the situation.  Although the circumstances have not changed, my focus and center of attention have shifted from the problem to the problem solver.  Only then can I cling to His promises and trust Him to do what He says He will do. 2 Chronicles 20:15 says – Do not be afraid or dismayed, for the battle is not yours, but God’s.  Now I can drop my problems in God’s lap knowing He will take care of it–because He said He would. It’s not easy to let go and let God–if you can’t, ask Him to help you–He will.

 

Leave a Reply

