Update

The diagnosis is in– torn medial meniscus of the right knee.  For two months I had been in severe pain, misdiagnosed and receiving the wrong treatment.   The injury kept me home-bound and literally, in bed for days at a time, unable to apply any pressure to my knee without pain.  Then just when I thought it was healing, I reinjured it. That is when I determined I would not have another doctor visit until I had an X-ray or MRI to determine the cause of the excruciating, tear-producing pain.

When I began to feel a bit better, and could hobble around with an ace bandage or brace, I ventured out to begin  getting the necessary  work done on my teeth.  I was referred to an endodontist for a root canal.  I scheduled my appointment, waited two weeks, and on the appointed day arrived for the procedure.

As I sat in the chair waiting for the three shots of Carbocaine to take effect, I felt something was wrong. I put my hand to my face and discovered it was swollen.  The dentist never said a word as he continued to prep me for the work.  I became increasingly aware that I was not going to have the procedure at that time.   I asked him to set me upright and take the dam out of my mouth, which he did.  I then apologized and made my way out of the office. As the dentist and I stood conversing about my next steps, he never acknowledged my obviously swollen face.

It was not until the next day did I realize that not only did I have a chipmunk cheek, I had a hematoma–my face was black and blue and my cheek felt as though I had grown a golf ball inside of it.  Days later I was still swollen, and weeks later I was still black, blue, purple, green and yellow.  The appointment I’d had with my dentist to have other work done, had to be cancelled until such time that the hematoma completely heals.

I was in pain with my knee, limited in mobility, unable to fully function or socialize, experienced horrendous insomnia, and now suffered from what appeared to be spousal abuse–according to the stares I received–except that I do not have one.  I became discouraged, frustrated and at times had myself a nice pity party.

Sometimes when we go through difficult times we cannot see the reason for it, or that any good will come of it.  We may complain, get angry, frustrated, depressed, or have pity parties.

But the good news is, that during the time I was immobile, I completed the book I was working on, which is now in the process of finding a publisher.    I have been working on writing another book.  The outline, framework and story line are intact.  It will take some time to fully develop, but it is well on its way.   And I have ideas for developing one of my stories into yet another book–three chapters are completed.

If I may offer encouragement to you in your hour of need:

  • don’t give up, you are stronger than you think– you can do it
  • don’t allow yourself to dwell on the bad things that are happening to you–this too shall pass
  • think positive thoughts–they are your power and encouragement
  • even though it is hard, find a reason to laugh. Laughing produces endorphins. Endorphins are the brain chemicals that make you feel good. No one want to feel bad, right?

endorphins

Leave a Reply

