My Secret Place At Jesus’ Feet

Jesus_Christ_Image               My Secret Place At Jesus’ Feet

                            By Linda Irene

 

What does it mean to rest at Jesus’ feet?

I discovered it accidentally one morning. I had been feeling vulnerable and lonely and wanted to curl up with Jesus for comfort. I didn’t know how to do that, but I got back into bed, pulled the covers up over my eyes to block the daylight, placed pillows around myself to give the feeling of someone beside me, closed my eyes, cleared my mind of all ‘should do’ stuff and drifted to a place somewhere between nearly asleep, yet awake.
In that space I felt connected, warm, and peaceful. In that place I prayed, not with my intellect, but with my spirit. It was a wonderful experience.  I don’t know how long I stayed there, but when I came away, I knew I wanted to do it again and again—to meet Jesus there, in that secret place where love and healing resides.

I realized God already knows what I want from Him. I’ve prayed about them so many times. But in this place, I get to be quiet, remove myself from my needs and wants and listen for His voice and allow Him to pray His prayers for me, through me. It took away the stress of asking and put me in a position of receiving.

I that place I understood what Jesus said to Martha when she complained that she was doing all the work while her sister sat at His feet, “My dear Martha, you are worried and upset over all these details! There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her.”  (Luke 10:38-42 NLT)

All the busyness of life distracts us from the one thing that matters most.

I hope you find my secret place at Jesus’ feet where the cares of this life melt away and you come away renewed, filled with His love and peace.

 

Leave a Reply

